board of trustees

The District’s governing power is vested in its 36 members of the Board of Trustees. One trustee is appointed by each of the 35 cities and the County Board of Supervisors appoints one to represent unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County. To be appointed, the member must reside in and be a resident voter of the representative city (or county for county member) in the District. Board member duties and responsibilities include setting policy, establishing the budget, approving expenditures, and retaining legal counsel. The trustees serve a minimum of two or four-year terms without compensation, but do receive an in lieu travel expense of $100 for attending each regularly scheduled board meeting.

The regularly scheduled board meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month, starting at 7:00 p.m., at District headquarters in Santa Fe Springs. All meetings are open to the public.

View Agendas And Minutes

City Board Member Year Appointed
Artesia Sally Flowers 2001
Bell Ali Saleh 2014
Bellflower Sonny R. Santa Ines 2016
Bell Gardens Pedro Aceituno 2005
Burbank Dr. Jeff D. Wassem 2007
Carson Elito M. Santarina 2016
Cerritos Mark Bollman – President 2012
Commerce Leonard Mendoza 2017
Cudahy Baru Sanchez – Vice President 2015
Diamond Bar Steve Tye 2010
Downey Robert Kiefer 2016
Gardena Dan Medina 2016
Glendale Jerry Walton 2016
Hawaiian Gardens Barry Bruce 2010
Huntington Park Marilyn Sanabria 2016
La Cañada Flintridge Leonard Pieroni 2018
La Habra Heights Catherine Houwen 2017
Lakewood Steve Croft 2012
La Mirada Larry Mowles 2017
Long Beach Emily Holman 2017
Los Angeles City Steve Appleton – Secretary-Treasurer 2011
Los Angeles County Steven Goldsworthy 2018
Lynwood Salvador Alatorre 2014
Maywood Eddie De La Riva 2014
Montebello Avik Cordeiro 2016
Norwalk Leonard Shryock 2017
Paramount Dr. Tom Hansen 2009
Pico Rivera Bob Archuleta 2014
San Fernando Raymin Herrera 2018
San Marino Scott Kwong 2016
Santa Clarita Heidi Heinrich 2017
Santa Fe Springs Luis Gonzalez 2016
Signal Hill Robert Copeland 2017
South Gate Denise Diaz 2018
South El Monte Hector Delgado 2012
Whittier Josué Alvarado 2017